Early Years Foundation Stage

The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) sets the standards that we must meet to make sure that all our children learn and develop well and are kept healthy and safe. It helps to ensure children are ready for school and gives children the broad range of knowledge and skills they need as they go through school and life.

The EYFS describes:

  • The areas of learning and development that shape all the childrens activities and experiences while they are with us
  • The early learning goals that we help the children work towards
  • How to measure progress

There are seven areas of learning and development.

  • Communication and language
  • Physical development
  • Personal, social and emotional development
  • Literacy
  • Maths
  • Understanding the world
  • Expressive arts and design

They are all important and they also all link together.

The four EYFS themes guide how we work:

  1. Every child is a unique child, who is constantly learning to be resilient, capable, confident and self-assured
  2. Children learn to be strong and independent through positive relationships
  3. Children learn and develop well in enabling environments where there is a strong partnership between practitioners and parents/ carers
  4. Children develop and learn in different ways and at different rates

If you’d like to know more about the EYFS ask any member of staff. If you want to see all the details you can find them on the Government website.